Passing a school bus illegally could cost you your driver’s licens
Passing a school bus illegally could cost you your driver’s license and a whole lot more!
The Iowa Transportation Commission approved and the Iowa Department of Transportation subsequently adopted an emergency administrative rule that increases the administrative driving privilege sanctions for illegally passing a stopped school bus. The rule took effect Aug. 15, 2012 , allowing it to be in effect at the start of the 2012-2013 school year.
Previous Governor Branstad signed into law Senate File 2218, the Keep Aware Driving-Youth Need School Safety Act, that increased the criminal penalties for passing a stopped school bus and directed the Iowa DOT to enact rules that make illegally passing a stopped school bus a serious moving violation that triggers increasing periods of suspension for first, second and subsequent offenses. The new rule provides that a person’s Iowa driving privilege will be suspended 30 days for a first conviction, 90 days for a second conviction and 180 days for a third or sub sequent conviction.
This law is aimed at preventing tragic deaths and serious injuries to Iowa’s school children while boarding or unloading from a school bus.